{12}   Power (Eph 6:10-24)

Introduction

PART II. CHRISTIAN DUTY. SECTION D. NEW RELATIONSHIP.

Paul at the end of the letter warns the church about the invisible but raging battle against evil forces. Because this is a battle that cannot be seen and its casualties can be explained away, the church has a tendency to ignore it or to fight with its own armour and strategies. It is no wonder we experience defeat. We must arise, put on the full armour of God and be strong in His might.

 

Question: What comes to your mind when you hear the phrase “spiritual warfare”?

 

Outline:

6:10-20            The armour of God

6:21-24            The final blessing

 

Explanation

6:10-11            Better manuscripts of the NT contains an expression which should be translated not “finally” (which introduces the conclusion) but “henceforward” meaning “for the remaining time”. If this is correct, then Paul is indicating that the whole interim period between the Lord’s two comings is to be characterized by conflict. The peace which God has made through Christ’s cross is to be experienced only in the midst of a relentless struggle against evil. And for this, the strength of the Lord and the armour of God are indispensable.

Beneath our visible world, an unseen spiritual battle is raging. Paul made no account of the origin of the forces of darkness to satisfy our curiosity. He simply warns us of their hostility and teach us how to overcome them. We need to have a thorough knowledge of the enemy and a healthy respect for his prowess. If we underestimate our spiritual enemy, we shall be quickly defeated.

Facing this kind of cosmic intelligences, we are far too weak. Only the power of God can defend and deliver us from the might, the evil and the craft of the devil. While the devil is powerful, God’s power is even stronger.

We are commanded to do 2 things: [1] general command: “be strong in the Lord”, and [2] specific command: “put on the full armour of God”. Paul expresses the proper combination of divine enabling and human co-operation. “Be strong” is a passive present verb, meaning we are to be strengthened.

6:12     Christians in Ephesus had knowledge of the spiritual forces of darkness. They witnessed two incidents: the unfortunate Jewish exorcists (Ac 19:13-17) and the burning of the books of magic (Ac 19:18-20).

The forces of evil have 3 frightening characteristics:

[1]   Might: they are powerful. “Principalities” and “powers” (“rulers” and “authorities”) may refer to the different ranks of evil spirits in the hierarchy of hell. They are called “the world rulers of this present darkness”. The Greek word (kosmokratores) points to a worldwide rule.

[2]   Evil: they are wicked. Darkness is their natural habitat, the darkness of falsehood and sin. They have no moral principles and no code of honour. They are utterly unscrupulous and ruthless. They operate “in the heavenly realms”, that is, in the sphere of invisible reality.

[3]   Craft: they are cunning. They use “schemes” (v.2). They seldom attack openly, preferring darkness to light. The devil transforms himself into “an angel of light” (2Co 11:14) and uses disguises. He prefers to seduce us into compromise and deceive us into error. He plays both the bully and the beguilder, practising force and fraud in turn. His wiliest scheme is to persuade people that he does not exist.

Some modern theologians take “rulers and authorities” to be social, political, judicial, and economic structures and institutions. But Paul is talking about the invisible world of “heavenly realms”. Many books have been written on this alternative explanation. While their theory is an interesting topic to study, it can divert us from focusing on the danger of demonic realities.

6:13     “Full armour of God” is the full armour of a heavy-armed soldier; it is forged and furnished by God. It helps Christians to remain standing and be stable even in the “day of evil”, that is, a time of special pressure. The 6 pieces of a soldier’s equipment in spiritual warfare are:

6:14     [1]        Belt of truth: Usually made of leather, the soldier’s belt gathered the tunic together and held the sword, ensuring that the soldier marched unimpeded. [a] “Truth” can mean “the truth”, the revelation of God in Christ and in the Bible. [b] But because the definite article is missing in Greek, it can mean “truth” in the sense of sincerity or integrity. Christians must at all costs be honest and truthful, as if everything is transparent and nothing needs to be hidden. The devil loves darkness; light causes him to flee.

[2]   Breastplate of righteousness: Covering the soldier’s back and front, the breastplate protected the vital organs. [a] In Paul’s letters, righteousness usually means “justification”, having a right relationship with God; this protects us against Satan’s accusations. [b] In 2Co 6:7, righteousness means “moral righteousness”, possessing moral character and conduct.

6:15     [3]        Boots of gospel: The “half boots” of the Roman soldier were made of leather, left the toes free, had heavy studded soles and were strapped to the ankles. They supported long marches and gave a solid stance, which prevented sliding. The term “gospel of peace” can be a subject or an object. [a] If it is a subject, the gospel is said to provide firmness or steadfastness to those who wear it because it gives us a firm footing to fight evil. [b] If it is an object, the gospel is something that we have to be ready to announce. A readiness to spread the gospel has a very stabilizing influence on our own lives.

6:16     [4]        Shield of faith: The oblong shield (not the round shield) covered the whole body and was designed to give protection from “flaming arrows”. These include the devil’s mischievous accusations or thoughts of doubt and disobedience, rebellion, lust, malice or fear. But faith lays hold of the promises of God in times of doubt, depression, and temptation.

6:17     [5]        Helmet of salvation: Made of bronze or iron, the helmet had an inside lining of felt, making the weight bearable. A hinged visor added frontal protection. [a] “Salvation” means the salvation of what we have already received: forgiveness, deliverance from Satan’s bondage, adoption into God’s family. [b] Another meaning can be found in 1Th 5:8 which talks about the helmet of the “hope of salvation”, that is, the confident expectation of full salvation at the end, including resurrection glory and Christ-likeness in heaven.

[6]   Sword of the Spirit—the Word of God: This was the only piece of armour used for attack as well as defense. Moreover, the Greek word (machaira) describes a short sword meaning that it is used for close encounter. The Bible is described as “sharper than any two-edged sword” (Heb 4:12) because it cuts through people’s defences, pricks their consciences and stabs them spiritually awake. We may use it both in resisting temptation (as Jesus did) and in evangelism.

6:18     Prayer is to pervade all our spiritual warfare. Prayer is an expression of our dependence on God, so is the putting on of God’s armour. Christian prayers need to be comprehensive, indicated by the fourfold use of the word “all”: [1] “on all occasions”, both regularly and constantly, [2] “with all kinds of prayers and requests”, including all forms, [3] “always keep on” or “with all perseverance”, never giving up, [4] “praying for all the saints”.

“Be alert” is to stay awake, as Jesus emphasizes “watchfulness” as the key in His teaching on His second coming, because the devil is always “prowls around like a hungry lion” (1Pe 5:8).

6:19     Paul asks for prayers in order to have strength not only for his confrontation with the devil but also for his evangelistic ministry. Even though he is in prison, he still works to spread the gospel. He asks for “words” and “boldness” (again in v.20). Clarity and courage remain two crucial characteristics of authentic Christian preaching. Clarity without courage is like sunshine in the desert: plenty of light but nothing worth to look at. Courage without clarity is like a beautiful landscape at night times: plenty to see but no light by which to enjoy it.

6:20     Christians are like ambassadors, duly accredited to represent his Lord in the world. “In chains” of course points to his iron prison chains but it may also represent a play on words. The term “chains” (Gr. alusis) can also mean adornments worn by rich ladies or high ranking men. When an ambassador attends a special occasion, he may wear such chains to reveal the riches, power and dignity of the government they represent. Here, Paul may be saying that his chains are the most appropriate insignia for the representation of his Lord.

6:21     Paul now reaches the end of his letter which he has been dictating, probably to Tychicus who would be the carrier of his letter to Ephesus. He is described as “dear brother” (to Christians) and “faithful servant” (to the Lord). Perhaps at this point he takes the pen from his scribe and writes an authenticating sentence in his own writing as he did in Gal 6:11, 2Th 3:17, 1Co 16:21, Col 4:18.

6:22     Tychicus was sent by Paul to tell the news about him in person: “tell you everything”, “that you also may know how I am and what I am doing”, and “that you may know how we are” and also to encourage them. Prayer (v.19), correspondence (v.21), and visits (v.22) are still three major means by which Christians and churches can enrich one another and so contribute to the building up of the body of Christ.

6:23     The letter began with “grace” and “peace” and ends with the same. Peace is the result of reconciliation with God and this peace expands to the relationship between brothers and sisters.

6:24     Grace of God is the root cause of everything described in this letter: the creation of a new community with a new standard. In addition to grace and peace are faith and undying love. The letter’s final words in Greek (undying) mean simply “in incorruption” (Gr. en aphtharsia). In normal reading, the phrase “undying love” describes the love from Christians. Some scholars, however, applies the phrase to describe God’s grace. Then the prayer becomes: may all who love our Lord Jesus Christ experience God’s grace in immortality or for ever. If this is correct, then this letter opened with a glance into the eternal past and now closes with a look toward eternal future, an immortal hope. If so, the last 2 verses add faith, love, and hope to grace and peace.

 

Summary

        We are at all times in a spiritual battle. We can get hurt if we ever let down our guard.

 

        In the final greeting, Paul talks again about grace and peace like in 1:2 and adds faith and love. Paul desires that the members of God’s new society may live in harmony as brothers and sisters, in His family, at peace and in love with Him and each other.

 

Application

 

Prayer

        Quietly reflect on the battle and the armour. Ask God to give you wisdom and strength for the battle and to help you to put on the whole armour of God.

{12}   能力 (6:10-24)

引言

部二、基督徒的實踐。 分部丁、新關係。

保羅在這封信的結尾警告教會關於這個不能看見但是卻沒有停頓的爭戰。因為這爭戰是不能看見的,所以有很多人忽略了它,另外,有很多人也利用自己的戰略和軍裝去戰鬥,結果就是屢屢的失敗,我們若要獲得勝利,就必須倚靠神和祂的軍裝。

大綱:

6:10-20 神的軍裝

6:21-24 最後的祝福

經文解釋

6:10-11 「我還有末了的話」:有一些古卷卻是「從現在開始」,意思就是說:下面所說的戰爭不會停止,直到主耶穌的再來。這長久的戰爭、我們必須靠神的軍裝才可以得勝。這個是眼不能看見的戰爭,保羅說明這個勢力是我們的敵人,也教導我們如何去勝過它。我們必須對這個勢力有所明白,如果我們對它低估了,就必定會戰敗。

我們面對這巨大的勢力,必須要倚靠神的能力才可以勝利。因為這個勢力大有能力、是罪惡的、是詭詐的。不過,黑暗的勢力雖然強大,但神的勢力卻比它更強大。

保羅吩咐我們有兩個行動:1﹞「作剛強的人」,這是一個被動詞,就是神使我們剛強。2﹞「穿戴神所賜的全副軍裝」,這是我們的責任。這兩個行動表示神人的合作。

6:12 在以弗所的基督徒明白黑暗勢力的實在,他們親眼看見念咒趕鬼的猶太人(徒19:13-17),又看見焚燒邪術的書(徒19:18-20)。

黑暗的勢力有三個可怕的特徵

1﹞大有能力:「執政的、掌權的」可能描寫邪魔的等級,他們被稱為「管轄這幽暗世界的」,在希臘文中形容他們統治全個世界。

2﹞是罪惡的:他們住在幽暗中,就是在罪惡中,沒有道德標準、不擇手段、沒有良心。「天空」就是不可以看見卻是現實的世界。

3﹞是詭詐的:他們利用「詭計」,在黑暗中攻擊,甚至扮演為「光明的天使」(林後11:14),他們引誘我們作出妥協,而謊話使我們犯錯。他們軟硬兼施,有時用壓迫,有時用詭詐,他們常用的詭計就是使人不相信他們的存在。

6:13 「神所賜的全副軍裝」就是神所製造和裝備的,他能夠使基督徒在「磨難的日子」、就是極端困難的日子中,仍然可以站立不跌倒。

6:14 1﹞「真理的帶子」:帶子是用皮革做的,可以將戰袍束緊,使行動方便。「真理」可以指神啟示的真理,包括基督和聖經。不過原文並沒有冠詞,可能是指真誠或誠實,基督徒必須要常常誠實,魔鬼便不可以指控。

2﹞「公義的護心鏡」:「護心鏡」的翻譯並不貼切,原文是盔甲,保護前胸和背後。在保羅的書信中,「公義」的意思常常是指「稱義」,就是和神有正確的關係,這可以保護我們不受魔鬼的指控。在林後6:7,「公義」是道德上的公義,就是有正確的性格和行為。

6:15 3﹞「平安福音的鞋」:「鞋」是指皮革做的軍靴,可以幫助軍人作長時間的行軍,又可以幫助他們有正確的站立姿勢而不致跌倒。「平安福音」賜給我們穩固的根基,讓我們和魔鬼爭戰。這也可能是指我們隨時準備傳福音,這種心態可以帶給我們穩定的生活。

6:16 4﹞「信德的籐牌」:「籐牌」是橢圓形的,可以遮蓋軍人整個身體不受「火箭」襲擊。「火箭」就是魔鬼的指控和一切不良的思想,包括疑惑、惡念、反叛、恐懼。但是,我們的信心可以幫助我們把握神的應許,勝過引誘和屬靈低潮。

6:17 5﹞「救恩的頭盔」:「頭盔」保護身體最重要的部分。「救恩」可能是指我們已經獲得的救恩,就是罪得赦免,成為神的兒女。在帖前5:8提及救恩的盼望,所以也可能是指救恩的完成,就是復活的榮耀和像基督。

6﹞「聖靈的寶劍、就是神的道」:這是軍裝中唯一用來進攻的,原文是一把短劍,用來作肉搏戰。聖經被形容為「比一切兩刃的劍更快」,「快」是指尖銳的意思,他可以打破人的抵擋,刺入人的良知,使人的靈醒覺,可以幫助人抵擋試探,又可以用來傳福音。

6:18 祈禱是屬靈戰爭最重要的一部分,祈禱表明我們對神的倚靠,正如穿上神的軍裝表明我們對神的倚靠一樣。基督徒的祈禱是全面的,在希臘文中,「全部」這個字出現四次:﹝1﹞「多方」:全部的時間,就是不斷的意思,﹝2﹞「禱告祈求」:全部的形式,﹝3﹞「儆醒不倦」:全部的忍耐,就是永遠不放棄,﹝4﹞「為眾聖徒祈求」:全部的聖徒。

「儆醒不倦」就是不沉睡,常常儆醒,正與耶穌講到他第二次降臨的教訓,主題就是要儆醒,「因為你們的仇敵魔鬼、如同吼叫的獅子,遍地游行,尋找可吞喫的人。」(彼前5:8

6:19 保羅要求以弗所的基督徒為他禱告,叫他有力量面對魔鬼,也有力量去傳福音。因為他雖然被囚禁在監獄中,他仍然盡力去傳福音。他希望自己能夠有「口才」和「放膽」,因為所有講道都應該有兩個特色,就是有「清晰」和有「勇氣」。

6:20 基督徒就像是一個大使,在世界中代表主。這裏所講的「鎖鍊」當然是形容在監獄中的鎖鏈,但「鎖鏈」這個希臘文也可以用來形容貴族所帶的頸鏈,好像一個大使在隆重的日子中帶着頸鏈,顯示他所代表的政府是如何尊貴及有能力。保羅在這裏可能是用「鎖鏈」來顯示它是神的代表。

6:21 推基古對基督徒來說是「親愛的兄弟」,對神來說是「忠心事奉主」的工人。他可能是為保羅書寫的人,也是將書信帶到以弗所的人。在這裏,保羅可能親筆加上幾句及簽名。

6:22 推基古的工作包括「全告訴你們」、「好叫你們知道我們的光景」、和鼓勵他們。

祈求(19節)、書信(21節)、探望(22節)是基督徒彼此建立的三種方法。

6:23 這封書信以「恩惠」和「平安」開始,也一樣以「恩惠」和「平安」為結束。「平安」是和神有和好的關係,推廣至弟兄姊妹和好的關係。

6:24 「恩惠」是新群體的基礎,在這裏加上「信心」和「仁愛」。「誠心的愛」可以翻譯為「不死的愛」或「不滅的愛」,有人將這一句翻譯為:「但願所有愛我們主耶穌基督的人經驗神的恩惠直到永遠」,若是這樣,這一句就包括信望愛。

總結

        屬靈的戰爭是沒有停止的,我們如果沒有防備,就必然會受傷。

        在最後問安的時候,保羅在恩惠和平安以外,加上了信心和仁愛,表明他希望神的群體要在和諧中生活,好像在同一個家庭中彼此相愛。

生活應用